Alabama and the National Championship Researched/compiled by Tex Noel Intercollegiate Football Researchers Association

* Year 15 and won NC

Alabama's Nick Saban became just the second coach to win his 3rd title in his 5th year at the school that was #1! The 1st? Frank Leahy, Notre Dame, 1947 More coaching comparisons, in year 15:

Also, Saban (145-54-1 0.724) became the 4th coach to win the title in his 15th season...joining:

Bernie Bierman 1936 Minnesota 85-31-10 0.714 John McKay 1974 USC 119-36-8 0.755 Bob Devaney 1971 Nebraska 162-38-11 0.833

> Coaches winning his 3rd title:

Title #	Coach Sea NC	NC-EXP	WLT @	NC			
3	Frank Leahy	194 7	Notre Dame	5	41-3-4 0.896	7	61-5-4 0.900
3	Nick Saban	2011 196	Alabama	5	33-8-0 0.805	15	145-54-1 0.724
3	Paul "Bear" Bryant	5 194	Alabama	9	69-12-6 0.857	20	160-51-5 0.752
3	Bernie Bierman	1 195	Minnesota	10	63-12-5 0.819	20	116-39-11 0.731
3	Bud Wilkinson	6 197	Oklahoma Notre	10	94-8-3 0.910	10	94-8-3 0.910
3	Ara Parseghian	3 196	Dame	10	85-15-4 0.837	23	123-59-8 0.668
3	Woody Hayes	1 197	Ohio St.	11	74-23-6 0.748 100-33-6	16	105-34-6 0.745
3	John McKay	2	USC	13	0.741 126-24-4	13	100-33-6 0.741
3	Barry Switzer	198 5	Oklahoma	13	0.831 118-29-4	13	126-24-4 0.831
3	Darrell Royal	197 0	Texas	14	0.795	17	135-42-4 0.749
3	Tom Osborne	199 7	Nebraska	25	255-49-3 0.836	25	255-49-3 0.836

Won NC Game 20+ points

		1		
Seaso				
n	BOWL	NC	FINAL	Net Pts
1995	Fiesta	Nebraska	62-24	38
2004	Orange	USC	55-19	36
1996	Sugar	Florida	52-20	32
1977	Cotton	Notre Dame	38-10	28
1999	Sugar	Florida State	46-29	27
2006	(Tostitos) BCS CH Game	Florida	41-14	27

_				
1958	Rose	Iowa	38-12	26
1972	Rose	USC	42-17	25
1997	Orange	Nebraska	42-17	25
1990	Florida Citrus	Georgia Tech	45-21	24
1976	Sugar	Pittsburgh	27-3	24
2001	Rose	Miami FL	37-14	23
1971	Orange	Nebraska	38-6	22
1963	Cotton	Texas	28-6	22
1991	Orange	Miami FL	22-0	22
1992	Sugar	Alabama	34-13	21
2011	(All-State) BCS CH Game	Alabama	21-0	21
1991	Rose	Washington	34-14	20

0 points in Bowl Game involving a NC

1991	Orange	Miami FL	22-0
2011	(All-State) BCS CH Game	Alabama	21-0
1958	Sugar	LSU	'7-0
1953	Orange	Maryland	0-7

This was Alabama's 3rd time to win a bowl game ranked #2 over AP's #1. (Others: 1992 Sugar vs Miami FL and 1979 Sugar vs Penn State.)

This was #2's 10th win vs #1 in a bowl game; 5th in the BCS era.

LSU scored 0 points; thus it became the 1st 500+ point team to be held scoreless in a final post season game; finishing with exactly 500+ Points. {Previous low was 2 by Florida State, 2000 vs Oklahoma.}